1 in 4

I just saw this article: One in Four Canadians Ready to Kick Quebec Out

Frankly, it doesn't surprise me. With the on-going protests by students, I've noticed more and more people looking at Quebec as a province that really doesn't know what it's doing, has "spoiled" people and really doesn't have a part in Canada. It's completely unCanadian behaviour.

Back when I was in school, we were learning about the then-impending referendum: do we allow Quebec to separate? I was completely against them separating. Even after learning more at the post-secondary level about the deep-seated issues that have led to that desire in their province, I still felt like they should stay. But times change:

Consider me now one of those people ready to kick Quebec out.

I'm done with them. I could be accused of being one of the English-speaking majority who is done with them, but, guess what? I'm also one of the French-speaking western Canadians, married to a Franco-Albertan and raising my children in French, who is done with them. My husband and his family are done with them, too. My husband has worked with Quebecois who have moved to Alberta who feel rather done with them. I don't even want to wait for them to ask to leave: let's just say, "Hey, you've wanted this for so long, we've changed our minds! Bye bye!" Let them deal with their mismanagement and attitudes and societal issues on their own. They wanted to assert themselves as their own nation; oh boy, have they ever! I've read too much in the news and had too many first-hand accounts from people who have been there in recent years for me to be accepting anymore. The student protests are just a tiny blip.

Go. Have your own country. Take care of your business on your own. Stop taking our tax money to continue living the way you do. Quebec students are complaining that their tuition is going to go from $2168 to $3793 over the next 5 years. Well, sorry for the attitude, but "Boo hoo!" I just checked UofA tuition: $5269.20.

So, here we are, a "rich" province and because of it, a ridiculous amount of our tax money is diverted to Quebec in equalization payments so that they can continue to have lower tuition costs than we do and so much more that the Quebec government covers? Are you kidding me? They can't take care of their finances, the government has complained for decades they want to separate, but we still have to pay our hard-earned money to them? For what reason? To keep them in their current state of mismanagement? I find it appalling the current Alberta government isn't doing something.

Do you know how much Quebec is going to receive in the 2012/2013 fiscal year?

$7.391 billion

Do you know which other province is going to get more than them? None! The next highest equalization payment is to Ontario with $3.261 billion. Yes, that's right: Quebec is going to get twice as much as Ontario!

The Wildrose Party is the only party I have heard address the issue of reducing what we put into the equalization payments. Some have flagged this as a threat to "Canadian unity". What unity? They are a distinct society, our laws allow them to be so, they want to separate anyhow. And if the federal government weren't paying them $7.391 billion, perhaps they'd be in a better state to reduce the deficit.

I am one of the 1 in 4. How about you?

Comments

Popular posts from this blog

Rocky Start to New Session

And another one today!

I'm confused