What Will It Take?

I flipped through this week's edition of The Edmonton Examiner and stopped on the editorial. What a surprise (sic) to see another unflattering mention of Deputy Premier Lukaszuk. And the editorial is, in my opinion, absolutely right with what it says. I can't find a link online to it, so here is a rough summary of the part about Lukaszuk:

After the landslide that stranded 600 people in the area of Fairmont Hot Springs and I'm not sure what other effects the disaster caused, not long after 4 people died in another landslide, Lukaszuk, in his ever thoughtless way, put on his Facebook page a photo of the landslide with the caption: "Fairmont in Hot Springs has a good deal on rooms today. If a little bit of mud doesn't bother you, book now!!!"

When people complained, he removed the post and tweeted:

Sorry for my FB post. I’m out of Canada and was not aware of the scope of the situation in B.C. I removed the post.
Frankly, it doesn't matter if people died in another landslide or not, the comment, about a natural disaster which anybody with any heart would have looked into finding out if it had affected people or not, was completely insensitive.

The thing that really gets me is this is not the first time he's done something like this on Twitter. He has posted things in the past that were rude or that he thought were funny but were clearly offensive or insensitive. It is all part and parcel of his entire personality, one which someone in the know has told me has created problems in the various departments he has worked in with the government. I don't know if he was aware of how people felt about him, or if he never noticed or just didn't care, but his attitude is one that has been around sometime.

He says he plans to be more careful, but what's to suggest that he had any clue that it was insensitive in the first place? He did apologize this time, which I didn't see him do on other occasions, so I give him credit for that, but I find it hard to believe anything will really change. Perhaps he won't be as insensitive, but that's not going to make him any less who he is.

Redford said she was disappointed and had a discussion with him. I would love to have been a fly on that wall. ;) This is the guy she picked as Deputy Premier. That should come with a certain level of decorum, should it not? He's not even a year into it. How many discussions is she going to have to have with him? What will it take for him to be knocked off his little pedestal? And what is it going to take so that he doesn't get re-elected next time? For crying out loud, he reported to police that one of his own constituents assaulted him, with an "open-handed punch to the back" (tell any kid or teen that, and they'll look at you funny and ask, "A slap?") after he had refused to remove himself from the constituent's property! And there are newspaper articles from past years where he was clearly described antagonizing either the same constituent or another one! Time after time after time, he has shown arrogant, conceited behaviour, homeschoolers and other people who dealt with him while discussing the proposed Education Act found he was deceitful--oh, wait, he actually lied to a newspaper, taking credit for something he didn't actually propose--and more than one person has described him as a bit of a sleazeball, another felt bullied by him on her own property. Heck, Immigration Minister Jason Kenney called him a "complete and utter asshole". He gets it. What will it take for everybody else to wake up???

Comments

Popular posts from this blog

Rocky Start to New Session

And another one today!

I'm confused